William Becton honored during 2016 Lamplighter Awards

A night honoring individuals and organizations that are lighting the path for others through their volunteerism and community service, almost didn’t happen for William Becton and his group.

Becton encountered a chain of events on the day of the award show, including a car accident and technical difficulties. However, Becton pressed on to delight the audience with his engaging personality during a brief delay. He graciously accepted the Heritage award at the 2016 Lamplighter Awards at the Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts. Becton also encouraged young artist to remain real and transparent before delivering the powerful, and soulful “I Yield,” the latest single from his “Sing Unto The Lord” EP.

“To receive an award by my peers in radio, for my contributions to this great institution we call Gospel Music, was a great honor. As I prepare to release new sounds into the atmosphere it was so refreshing to stop and look back at what God has done. I am poised and fueled by faith for what I expect God to do in this next season of ministry and music. Thank you Radio One for this awesome award.”-William Becton said during his acceptance speech.

William Becton accepts Lamplighter award

After a long long hiatus, Becton has returned to the music scene. Known throughout his career for his Trailblazing and Innovative approach to music, William Becton continues to be a trendsetter in his approach to gospel music. His audience, who has anxiously waited for his return to the gospel music industry, is now exhaling and enjoying the new and improved pastor, producer, songwriter and gospel recording artist.

Other outstanding Lamplighter performances included Jekalyn Carr, Tasha Cobbs, Anthony Brown, Damon Little, Todd Dulaney, Micah Stampley, Doug Williams, and Wes Morgan.

Sarah Hearn
the authorSarah Hearn
Sarah Hearn is Editor-in-Chief of, founded in 2011. The site was recently named among Feedspot's Top Gospel and Christian Music Websites.  Sarah is a member of the National Association of Black Journalists and the Gospel Music Association.
error: Content is protected !!