MercyMe, CeCe Winans grab big wins at 48th Annual GMA Dove Awards

The Gospel Music Association (GMA) handed out honors in 39 categories at the 48th Annual GMA Dove Awards plus ,special industry recognitions at Lipscomb University’s Allen Arena in Nashville. Kari Jobe and Tasha Cobb Leonard hosted the sold-out show.  From first-time nominees to legends, the all-star lineup came together for one of Gospel and Christian music’s most memorable nights.

MercyMe received multiple wins at last night’s awards show, winning the notable Artist Of The Year, alongside Pop/Contemporary Album Of The Year (Lifer) and Songwriter of the Year Artist (Bart Millard). “Christian music saved my life and it means the world to us, means the world to me,” Bart Millard said.  CeCe Winans took home multiple Dove Awards, including gospel artist of the year and contemporary gospel/urban album of the year for Let Them Fall in Love, which was produced by her son Alvin Love III and Tommy Sims.

CeCe Winans
CeCe Winans backstage after her win

Zach Williams took home New Artist of the Year.

Zach Williams wins
Zach Williams

Gospel music legend Pat Boone received the SoundExchange Fair Play Award.

Pat Boone at Dove Awards
Living legend Pat Boone

Selected list of winners:

Artist Of The Year: MercyMe, Fair Trade Services

New Artist Of The Year: Zach Williams, Provident Label Group

Song Of The Year: “What A Beautiful Name” (writers) Ben Fielding, Brooke Ligertwood, (publisher) Hillsong Music Publishing

Contemporary Christian Artist Of The Year: Casting Crowns, Provident Label Group

Gospel Artist Of The Year: CeCe Winans, Pure Springs Gospel

Songwriter Of The Year (Artist): Bart Millard

Bluegrass/Country/Roots Album Of The Year: Sing It Now: Songs of Faith and Hope: Reba McEntire (producer) Reba McEntire, Jay DeMarcus, Doug Sisemore

Rap/Hip Hop Album Of The Year: The Waiting Room: Trip Lee, (producers) Gabriel Azucena, James Foye III, John McNeil, Joel McNeil, Alex Median, Allen Swoope, Almondo Cresso, Chris Mackey, Joseph Prielozny, Tyshane Thompson

Rock/Contemporary Album Of The Year: HardloveNEEDTOBREATHE, (producers) NEEDTOBREATHE, Joe Levine, Dave Tozer, Ed Cash, Ido Zmishlany

Pop/Contemporary Album Of The Year: LiferMercyMe (producers) Ben Glover, David Garcia

Southern Gospel Album Of The Year: Resurrection Joseph Habedank, (producer) Wayne Haun

Contemporary Gospel/Urban Album Of The Year: Let Them Fall In Love CeCe Winans, (producers) Alvin Love III, Tommy Sims

Worship Album Of The Year: Never Lose SightChris Tomlin, (producers) Ross Copperman, Jeremy Edwardson, Ed Cash

Producer Of The Year: Bernie Herms

Inspirational Film Of The Year: The Shack – (directors) Stuart Hazeldine (producers) Netter Productions, Summit Entertainment

Trinity Broadcasting Network (TBN) will exclusively air the awards show on October 22 at 8 p.m. CST. Visit for more information. See full list of winners here.


Sarah Hearn
the authorSarah Hearn
Sarah Hearn is Editor-in-Chief of Sarah founded the site to serve as a positive platform for gospel music news, to share all of the good things happening within the Gospel and Christian music industry. In 2017, the site was named one of the Top 50 Gospel and Christian Music websites. Sarah is widely known for her on-the-scene reporting which includes the GMA Dove Awards, the Stellar Awards, Grammys on the Hill, Gospel Music Heritage Month Celebration Concert, McDonald’s Inspiration Celebration Gospel Tour, St. Jude Celebration of Hope, the Congressional Black Caucus Annual Legislative Conference and many more. For more than 5 years, Sarah served as the DC Gospel Music Examiner at  where the site garnered more than 150,000 readers in the US and around the world. Sarah was named one of the Top Ten Heroes in Gospel Music in the Washington, DC area in 2012 for her extensive coverage, support and commitment to artists within the D.C. metro region.  In 2016 she was named Person of the Month by IndiMogul Magazine. The site was recently named among Feedspot's Top Gospel and Christian Music Websites.  Sarah is a member of the National Association of Black Journalists and the Gospel Music Association.

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!