The Recording Academy®’s newly launched Songwriters & Composers Wing has announced a Leadership Council comprised of music creators spanning diverse backgrounds and genres to further the Wing’s mission of supporting and advocating on behalf of music’s storytellers.

Gospel artist, J.J. Hairston was among those named. Hairston and his group, Youth Praise recently won  Choir of the Year and –  Contemporary Choir of the Year at the  Stellar Gospel Music Awards.

Working collaboratively with the Academy’s membership base and ecosystem of musicians, the Leadership Council will meet regularly to inform the Wing’s direction and take lead in fostering recognition of all genres of songwriters. To better serve creators internationally, the Wing has also forged a partnership with The Latin Recording Academy® and will work with the organization to better serve global creators who identify as songwriters and composers.

Hailing from the Academy’s 12 Chapters and The Latin Recording Academy’s membership, the accomplished songwriters and composers that make up the Leadership Council include:

Ivan Barias
Edgar Barrera
Mason Bates
Emily Bear
Claudia Brant
Bryan-Michael Cox
Erika Ender
Sue Ennis
J.J. Hairston
Sam Hollander
J. Ivy
Brett James
Savan Kotecha
Luciano Luna
Lori McKenna
Eduardo Osorio
Tayla Parx
Bruce Robison
Georgia Stitt
Justin Tranter
Christopher Tin
Emily Warren
Jay Weigel



Sarah Hearn
the authorSarah Hearn
Sarah Hearn is Editor-in-Chief of, founded in 2011. The site was recently named among Feedspot's Top Gospel and Christian Music Websites.  Sarah is a member of the National Association of Black Journalists and the Gospel Music Association.
error: Content is protected !!