Album Review: MercyMe 'Welcome to the New'

Welcome to the New  is the eighth studio album from MercyMe and represents Bart Millard and his band mates leaving their comfort zone and stretching the boundaries of the familiar MercyMe sound. What emerges is a new sound for longtime fans and a winning invitation to new ones.

The hit single,”Shake”  is a peppy song that is just plain fun. The upbeat song has a 70’s rock feel to it and one can’t help but move to its infectious beat.  The celebration continues with the title track  “Welcome to the New” which celebrates new live in Christ. Bart Millard’s vocals ignite the song along with the sound of  electric drums.

There’s a bit of Southern Gospel flair on “Greater,” and “Flawless” comes in with a touch of acoustic sound while driving home the realness of Christ in our lives today.

MercyMe still knows how to deliver a solid ballad and do so with “Finish What He’s Started”  which is drawn from Philippians 1:6. The drums, bass and electric guitar creates the expected crescendos on this towering song about God’s work on the cross.

“Wishful Thinking” is poignant and touching and even adds in a bit of church organ at the beginning for good measure on this love song to Jesus.  “Dear Younger Me” is reflective and shares with the younger self the valuable lessons learned over time. “New Lease on Life” and “Burn Baby Burn” are also noteworthy.

MercyMe has scored again with another solid album full of diversity and offering  encouragement to the listener.

Picks: “Shake”  “Finish What He’s Started”    Purchase Welcome to the New


Sarah Hearn
the authorSarah Hearn
Sarah Hearn is Editor-in-Chief of, founded in 2011. The site was recently named among Feedspot's Top Gospel and Christian Music Websites.  Sarah is a member of the National Association of Black Journalists and the Gospel Music Association.
error: Content is protected !!