Positive Living

Cicely Tyson, Richard Roundtree, Dionne Warwick and Chadwick Boseman to be honored by CBCF

Academy Award nominated actress Cicely Tyson, Golden Globe nominated actor, Richard Roundtree, and music icon Dionne Warwick will be honored with Lifetime Achievement Awards and award winning actor, Chadwick Boseman will receive the Trendsetter Award by the Congressional Black Caucus Foundation (CBCF). The evening will be hosted by actress Malinda Williams (Soul Food). Special guest presenter, media legend Donnie Simpson. Entertainment by; Marcus Johnson Band. VIP attendees include; CBC Members of Congress, Dr. Maya Rockeymoore Cummings (CBC Spouse and chair of the Celebration of Leadership in the Fine Arts), A. Shuanise Washington (CBCF, President & CEO), CBC Spouses, celebrity guests and more. The event takes place as part of the Annual Legislative Conference that is being held Sept. 14-18.

Cicely Tyson is CBCF honoree
Cicely Tyson will be honored during the Celebration of Leadership Awards

The event support thes CBC Spouses Visual and Performance Arts Scholarship Program. The awards are conferred on artists whose legacy includes not only extraordinary works but a commitment to cultivating future generations of artists. Since 1996, the Celebration of Leadership in the Fine Arts has raised funds to support the CBC Spouses Visual and Performing Arts Scholarship Fund. Twenty scholarships are awarded annually to highly qualified students pursuing undergraduate degrees in the arts, based on their creative talent, academic excellence, financial need and community service. Two of this year’s scholarship recipients, vocalist Lindsey Reynolds, and Justin Syas, a pianist, will perform during the event.

Tickets are still available at www.cbcfinc.org/alc or call ALC Hotline: 877-585-6018.

Sarah Hearn
the authorSarah Hearn
Sarah Hearn is Editor-in-Chief of PositivelyGospel.com, founded in 2011. The site was recently named among Feedspot's Top Gospel and Christian Music Websites.  Sarah is a member of the National Association of Black Journalists and the Gospel Music Association.
error: Content is protected !!