2016 Dove Awards winners: Lauren Daigle leads all winners

(Photo credit: Terry Wyatt, Getty Images)
The 47th Annual GMA Dove Awards were held at Lipscomb University’s Allen Arena. Awards were handed out in 44 categories plus special awardcategories. The sold-out show was hosted by for KING & COUNTRY and Tye Tribbett and featured performances by TobyMac, Hillsong UNITED, Matthew West, Natalie Grant, Anthony Brown &group theAPy and more.  
Hosts for KING & COUNTRY and Tye Tribbett  host
(Photo credit: Terry Wyatt, Getty Images)
Tamela Mann opened the show with her single, “One Way.”
tamela-mann opened Dove Awards
(Photo credit: Terry Wyatt, Getty Images)
Lauren Diagle led the awards with three awards, including grabbing top honor as Artist of the Year. Bethel Music, Hillsong United and Anthony Brown & group therAPy walked away with two awards each.
The night's leading winner Lauren Daigle accepting "Artist of the Year" award
Highlights of the evening included a DC Talk reunion performance  after 15 years and Chris Tomlin accepting the SoundExchange Digital Radio Award for a billin streams, the first for a CCM artist.
Chris Tomlin accepting SoundExchange Digital Radio Award
(Photo credit: Terry Wyatt, Getty Images)
Here are some of the top winners:
Artist of the Year:
Lauren Daigle, Centricity Music
New Artist of the Year
Jordan Feliz, Centricity Music
Song of the Year:
“Good, Good Father” (writers) Pat Barrett, Tony Brown (publishers) Vamos Publishing, Capitol CMG Parago, Common Hymnal Publishing, Housefires Sounds, Tony Brown Publishing Designee, songs, sixsteps Music
Pop Contemporary Artist of the Year:
Songwriter of the Year(Artist)
Lauren Daigle
Gospel Artist of the Year (Non-Artist)
Kirk Franklin , Fo Yo Soul Recordings/RCA Records
Southern Gospel Recorded Song of the Year
“I Am Blessed” – Karen Peck & New River, (writers) Karen Peck Gooch, Kenna West, Michael Farren
Worship Song of the Year
“No Longer Slaves” (writers) Jonathan David Hesler, Brian Johnson, Joel Case (publisher) Bethel Music Publishing

Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year
This Is Not A Test – TobyMac, (producers) Christopher Stevens, Toby McKeehan, David Garcia
Traditional Gospel Album of the Year
Everyday Jesus – Anthony Brown & group therAPy, (producers) Anthony Brown, Justin Savage

Worship Album of the Year
Empires – Hillsong United, (producers) Michael Guy Chislett, Joel Houston

Inspirational Film of the Year
War Room, (director) Alex Kendrick (producers) Kendrick Brothers Pictures, AFFIRM Films, Provident Films
For the full list of winners, click here
The 47th Annual GMA Dove Awards will air on TBN (Trinity Broadcasting Network) on Sunday, October 16th at 7 p.m. PST. For further information, please visit,
Sarah Hearn
the authorSarah Hearn
Sarah Hearn is Editor-in-Chief of, founded in 2011. The site was recently named among Feedspot's Top Gospel and Christian Music Websites.  Sarah is a member of the National Association of Black Journalists and the Gospel Music Association.
error: Content is protected !!